Special Days & Awareness Programmes

National Farmers Day

Integral Institute of Agricultural Science & Technology (IIAST) had celebrated National Fanners Day on 23" December, 2017. The objective of the celebrating this Day is to remember the birth anniversary of our fifth Prime Minister and Kisan leader, law Chaudhary Charan Singh, and to acknowledge the hard work of our country's fanners and to develop a feeling of National Integration among different states of farmers. The celebrations aimed to create awareness among young girls and boys about the importance of farmers and farming for a healthy and prosperous nation, and to inspire them to take up agriculture as a career option in order to contribute to the nation.

The program was held in Central Auditorium, Integral University. Prof. S. W. Akhtar. Founder and Chancellor. Integral University. Lucknow, Padma Shri Prof. Palpu Pushpangadan, Director General. Amity Institute for Herbal and Biotech Products Development (AIHBPD) & Senior Vice President Ritnand Halved Education Foundation (REEF). New Delhi graced the ceremony as the Chief Guest while Prof. Sushil Solomon. Vice Chancellor. Chandra Shekhar Azad University Of Agriculture & Technology (CSAUA&T), Kanpur, Prof. Rajendra Kumar, Director General, U. P. Council of Agricultural Research (UPCAR). Lucknow. Prof. M. J. K. Khan, Director. Council of Science & Technology, UP. Lucknow, Dr. M. J. Khan, Chairman Indian Chamber of Food and Agriculture (I.CFA), New Delhi, Dr. A. D. Pathak, Director, Indian Institute of Sugarcane Research (IISR), Lucknow, Prof. Narendra Mohan. Director, National Sugar Institute, Kanpur were the Guest of Honors. In addition, Prof. Jamal M. Arif, Vice Chancellor. Integral University. Lucknow was also graced the event.

Dr. Mohd. Haris Siddiqui welcomed the gathering and briefed about importance of farmers and farming for the national development. Prof. Palpu Pushpangadan and Prof. M. J. Khan complemented the farmers for their immense contributions. Prof. Pushpangadan persuaded the students to remain connected with the farmers while Prof. Khan emphasized that agriculture has a very wide scope with career options like Agripreneurs, scientists, teachers, and civil servants. India is primarily the land of villages in which the majority of the populations are farmers having agriculture as their main source of income. However, agriculture is the most important means of life but ironically many are not aware of the problems faced by the farmers. Prof. Sushil Solomon and Prof. Rajendra Kumar raised the issue of the ignorance of government policies by this section of the society. Therefore, it is mandatory to educate people about these issues. They also discussed about empowering the farmers and getting them acquainted with latest farming technologies. Prof. M. J. K. Khan, Dr. A. D. Pathak and Prof. Narendra Mohan also addressed the students and paid homage to Chaudhary Charan Singh who served the country for a very short period from July 28, 1979, to January 14, 1980. He was the Kisan leader who introduced several welfare schemes for the farmers and wrote several books on farmers and their problems depicting various solutions to improve the lives of the farmers of the nation.

Integral Institute of Agricultural Science & Technology (IIAST) presented awards to the progressive tanners with certificate of Excellence to encourage them. The fanners who received awards arc Shri Ram Saran Vanua (for outstanding contribution in the area of Ili-Tech cultivation). Padamshri Haji Kaleem Ullah (for outstanding contribution in the area of mango grafting and cultivation). Dr. B.K Dwivedi (for outstanding contribution in the area of integrated and Hi-Tech farming). Shri Kedar Nath Maurya (for outstanding contribution in the area of true potato seed production) and Shri Ramesh Verma (for outstanding contribution in the area of protected vegetable cultivation).

The program ended with the vote of thanks by Dr. Saba Siddiqui. HOD. Department of Agriculture thanking all the dignitaries on and off the dais, farmers and the students who participated in the programme.